DIY: Painted Dresser

I showed a little sneak-peak of this dresser while it was in progress in a post here.

IMG_1702

Well, with the snow storm this past weekend, I had plenty of time to work on it!  I found this dresser at a thrift store a while back. I loved the wood details that were on it and the size was great…so it was an easy decision to bring it home.

I set it aside for a few weeks while I was working on other projects and because I wasn’t 100% sure of what color I wanted to paint it. At first I thought I wanted to paint it white…but after I looked at my dwindling Annie Sloan supply…I decided to think about it a bit more. While I was thinking about the paint color, I came across this image on Pinterest and LOVED the color.

greige_with_vintage_booksatlantahomemag
Link

I’ve also been loving this color created by Marian of Miss Mustard Seed.

994814f0ac58d71eadcb2c05467ff110
Link

So, with a half full container of Annie Sloan Pure White, a little bit of Annie Sloan Linen, a little bit of Annie Sloan Graphite, and a few sample pots of some blue-grey colors from Valspar…I got a little creative. I had read recently that you can actually use any flat latex paint on furniture as long as you seal it… and since the majority of the mix is chalk paint I’m not too worried about the finish.

So, without further ado, here is the finished dresser!

IMG_4054_editedIMG_4055_editedIMG_4057_editedIMG_4056_editedIMG_4058_editedIMG_4059

 

One of my favorite parts about this dresser is the inside of the drawers. I decoupaged the inside of the drawers with vintage music sheets. It gives the drawers a fresher feel and is a nice little surprise when it is opened up! I can imagine it being used as a side table (possibly with the mirror being used else where), as an entry table, or even as a dresser in a child’s room.

I was hoping to keep this piece in the house for a while, because I’ve grown pretty attached to it. BUT, the white dresser shown in the previous post has sold and this dresser is heading to the antique booth! Like I said, having an antique booth is really fun…but it can be a bummer to sell pieces you love! On the bright side, that means I get to search for more furniture to redo…and I’ve been wanting to try Miss Mustard Seed’s Milk Paint for a while!

*Dresser being sold at Staunton Antiques Center in Staunton, VA.

 

Leave a Reply

